How long does the divorce process take?
The divorce process takes at least 60 days in Texas, but can longer in more complex situations. The cooperation of your spouse and family and property issues can complicate the situation and extend the length of the process.
What are the residence requirements for a divorce in Texas?
One party must have lived in the state of Texas for at least 6 months, and lived in the county where the suit is filed for the last 90 days.
Do I have to prove fault of the other spouse to get a divorce?
No. You do not have to prove fault to get a divorce in Texas.
Is there such thing as legal separation in the State of Texas?
No, there is no legal separation in Texas.
Is common law marriage recognized in Texas?
Yes. The parties must prove that the following: (1) The parties agreed to be married; (2) the parties lived together; (3) the parties hold out to others that they are married.